Perth Symphony welcomes a new Chair

Perth Symphony Orchestra is delighted to welcome Phil Thick, General Manager, Tianqi Lithium, as new Chair of the orchestra. In doing so, the orchestra says farewell to outgoing founding Chair, Maurice Spillane, Senior Member, State Administrative Tribunal.

Phil brings with him a wealth of experience having worked as Executive Director for Shell Australia Ltd., Director, Esperance Port Authority, CEO & Director Coogee Chemicals, Managing Director & CEO, MHM Metals, and Managing Director, New Standard Energy, prior to taking on his current role with Tianqi Lithium.

Phil has had considerable not-for-profit experience including a directorship with the Disability Services Commission (WA) and more recently as Chair of Avivo (formerly Perth Home Care Services).

In taking on the role with Perth Symphony, Phil noted,

“I’m passionate about the arts and particularly the impact music can have on the lives of everyone, regardless of age, culture or status.  We have been big fans of PSO for many years, particularly their commitment to bring music to the community.  The opportunities are endless, and I want to work with Bourby and the PSO team to continue to grow and spread our influence, so all can share the joy the PSO experience brings.”

Phil replaces founding Chair, Maurice Spillane, who has been with Perth Symphony since its inception in 2014, since starting from a Kitchen Table. Maurice has overseen the orchestras beginnings and its formation into a registered charity with DGR status. During this time the orchestra’s constitution was formed, the board was established, and founding Executive Director, Bourby Webster, was supported in setting the organisation’s vision, mission and purpose.

Under Maurice’s guidance, the orchestra has grown into one of WA’s largest and most sustainable arts companies with an Annual turnover of just under $1.5m.

In departing, Maurice noted,

“The founding principle of PSO and Bourby’s driving ambition was to give opportunities to WA musicians and bring music to the people of WA where they live.”

“I have been honoured to assist in the first phase of that incredible journey and am proud of what has been achieved in such a short time with the wonderful assistance of numerous musicians, donors, sponsors, volunteers and many other community members. I’ve no doubt it will grow from strength to strength under Bourby and the board’s guidance over the coming years”.

Phil was welcomed as Chair-elect at the October board meeting and will be formally appointed at the orchestra’s AGM on November 18th. His role involves supporting the achievement of Perth Symphony’s strategic goals, building strong lasting relationships with major supporters such as Founding Partner, AHG, and Sustainability Partners, Tim Roberts Giving and Minderoo Foundation, and developing diverse funding sources.

Phil joins the below members of the Perth Symphony Orchestra board:

Mr Alec O’Connell, Appointed 18 November 2014
Ms Joanne Palmer, Appointed 18 November 2014
Ms Bourby Webster, Appointed 11 September 2014
Mr Simon Joyner, Appointed 5 April 2016 (retired Oct 12)
Ms Suzanne Ardagh, Appointed 19 September 2017
Ms Niamh O’Connor, Appointed 28 March 2018

In addition, Perth Symphony also bids farewell to Simon Joyner who joined the Board in April 2016.

For all media enquiries, contact:
Belinda Sherry, Marketing Manager –